Posted in Hotels, Sibu

Peppers Cafe (Blog as I Eat)

We are now at Tanahmas’ Peppers Cafe, celebrating my little monster’s 22nd birthday. I am being antisocial and writing this as we eat. Service isn’t up to usual standards today.

Singapore style fried bee hoon

My godmum is having this. I don’t think it is vegetarian (I only had the noodly bits and a prawn). It is quite spicy and has a slight curry aftertaste. The  noodles have an al dente pasta-like texture. Yum.

Fried mee mamak (non-veg)

The maid is having this. It is a bit spicy, but with a tomato-ish aftertaste. Not as good as the bee hoon but liveable.

Fried tanghun (non-veg)

My mum’s dish is a bit of a disappointment. It is terribly spicy, but for all the wrong reasons. I usually love a peppery dish, even ones with all pepper and no chilli, but this was poorly executed.

Garden salad

I like my salad neat.

This is my order: garden salad, no dressing. It is very difficult to botch a salad, but I don’t understand why my dish was third to arrive when all you need to do is wash and cut up veggies into crude strips and pieces.

Dill herb salmon (pescatarian)

Much more rice than pictured in menu.

I was going to be good and just have the salad, but then I decided to have this as well. I actually despise the fact that they put the sauce all over my salmon. I am quite obsessive about these things.

I don’t understand why they’ve given me a dish of butter with a lemon wedge. What am I supposed to do with this?

The rice is a bigger serve than pictured in the menu. It is comparable to Sugarbun’s raisin rice.

I forgot to tell them to hold the dressing on the salad. The veggies are soaked in oil. It is as though they are compensating for the oil they didn’t get to drench my garden salad with.

The salmon slab

The salmon came in two big slabs. The tomato sauce is tangy but has a slight, barely detectable kick to it. It is quite well cooked, but I could barely taste any dill herb. The tomato sauce ruins the salmon a bit, and that is putting it mildly.

Sprite longan

I don’t understand the cherry, but the nice thing is that there is tons of longan in it; enough to constitute a meal on its own.

Ice lemon tea

This is actually quite disappointing. All tea and no lemon. Despite the two slices of lemon here, and an additional two from my mum, the taste of tea overpowers the lemon, and not in a good way.

Lemon cheesecake

I haven’t had their lemon cheesecake in years, but I still love it. They’ve added a little unidentifiable, albeit visually appealing, chocolate-drizzled yellow confection square on the topm As usual I’d prefer it without the cream and the square but I suppose aesthetics has become quite a bit more important in the culinary sphere.

We are sharing this between the five of us, as  we still have a whole pandan jelly cake from Four Seasons’ to cut into when we get home.

My little monster likes it very much, as do I. It has found less favour with Mother, who prefers a creamier cake, and the maid, who is a great advocate of all things sweet and believes that cheesecakes are too sour.

Leave a Reply

