Posted in Asian, Sibu

New Capitol

New Capitol is one of the oldest and best known Chinese restaurants in Sibu. It is located opposite Premier. They cater and deliver, which is nice. We use them for family dinners sometimes.

Mixed veg – a Chinese restaurant staple. These are stir fried with a sweet, thick gravy. If that sounds like your cup of tea, then you will enjoy this dish. I did not much care for it.

Not suitable for peanut allergy sufferers.

Fried egg and sea cucumber. This was meant to be one of the dishes that I could safely eat, but the restaurant folk had to ruin it by dumping unnecessary strips of ham on it. Thankfully this was just surface-level meat (what was underneath was simply remarkable).
Their fried kampua comes highly recommended, but it does not photograph well. I thought it looked quite oily, but then I suppose it is oil that makes kampua taste so good in the first place. This dish contains pork and is unsuitable for vegetarians/pescatarians.

The pork ribs are another popular dish. When I cut some so that I could feed it to my sister the meat fell right off the bone – it looked very tender and juicy (my family agrees that it was).

My little monster really likes the claypot mutton (which I neglected to take a picture of). She kept dipping her spoon in the pot for more.

I  think that I would have enjoyed the steamed chicken had I’d had any of it. It was not oily, the meat was tender and was served with a spicy (but not in the chilli sense) ginger-oil dip.

Leave a Reply

